Mobile Menu

Areas of Focused Competence (AFC) Diploma Programs

The Areas of Focused Competence (AFC) Diploma Programs ordinarily represent either supplemental competencies that enhance the practice of physicians in an existing discipline, or a highly specific and narrow scope of practice that does not meet the criteria of a subspecialty.

This category of discipline recognition provides a mechanism for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada to support areas of expertise that meet a legitimate societal need, but may have been previously denied formal recognition because they did not meet all of the criteria of a subspecialty discipline.

Successful AFC candidates become Diplomates (or, if they do not have Royal College specialty certification, Diplomate Affiliate members) of the Royal College.

RCPSC website links to AFC resources

Resource Link

Description of Resource

This information includes a links to information about applying for AFC discipline recognition and AFC diploma eligibility.

This information includes a link to the Royal College’s accreditation policy and procedure for AFC programs. The General Standards of Accreditation applicable to AFC programs include the A Standards, which apply to the university and postgraduate dean’s office, and the C Standards, which apply to each AFC program.


University of Toronto AFC Reference Materials

The following list contains relevant reference materials for the AFC program accreditation approval process and an update on AFC programs at the University of Toronto.


Accredited AFC Programs at the University of Toronto

Below is a listing of current accredited AFC programs at the University of Toronto.

Adult Cardiac Electrophysiology
AFC Director: Dr. Krishnakumar Nair

Adult Interventional Cardiology
AFC Director: Dr. Sam Radhakrishnan

AFC Director: Dr. Scott Boerner

Transfusion Medicine
AFC Director: Dr. Wendy Lau







© 2016 Post MD Education. All rights reserved.