Mobile Menu
\

Boards & Committees

The following boards and committees are organized by the PGME Office. Each board or committee section contains information pertaining to meeting dates, reference materials as well as agendas and minutes.

The Board of Examiners (BOE-PG) is a committee of faculty and residents appointed by the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto. At the request of the Program Director and Vice Dean, Post MD Education, the BOE-PG reviews the cases of residents in academic difficulty and determines the appropriate course(s) of action, which may include remediation, remediation with probation, probation or suspension and dismissal.

The BOE-PG committee meets on a monthly basis usually on the last Friday of each month. A Program Director who would like to bring forward a case to be considered by the committee must notify PGME approximately 4 weeks in advance of the BOE meeting date in the month they wish to bring forward a case (Please see BOE Meeting schedule for deadline dates).

Meeting Dates

Please see below the BOE-PG meeting schedule for the academic year, or download the BOE-PG Meeting Schedule.

Meeting Date Deadline for submitting DRAFT report Deadline for submitting FINAL report
February 22, 2019 Wed Feb 6 Wed Feb 13
March 29, 2019 Wed Mar 13 Wed Mar 20
April 26, 2019 Wed Apr 10 Wed Apr 17
May 31, 2019 Wed May 15 Wed May 22
June 28, 2019 Wed Jun 12 Wed Jun 19
July 26, 2019 Wed Jul 10 Wed Jul 17
August 23, 2019 Wed Aug 7 Wed Aug 14
September 20, 2019 Wed Sep 4 Wed Sep 11
October 25, 2019 Wed Oct 9 Wed Oct 16
November 29, 2019 Wed Nov 13 Wed Nov 20
December 13, 2019 Wed Nov 27 Wed Dec 4
January 31, 2020 Wed Jan 15 Wed Jan 22
February 28, 2020 Wed Feb 12 Wed Feb 19
March 27, 2020 Wed Mar 11 Wed Mar 18
May 1, 2020 (April meeting) Wed Apr 15 Wed Apr 22
May 29, 2020 Wed May 13 Wed May 20
June 26, 2020 Wed Jun 10 Wed Jun 17

Remediation templates

Policies & Procedure Guidelines

The purpose of the BPEA for PGME Advisory Committee is to provide ongoing advice to the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) about best practices, tools and systems for learner assessment and program evaluation (e.g. teacher evaluations, rotation evaluations) for residency education at University of Toronto.

Further details on the Advisory Committee are available in the Terms of Reference.

The Fellowship Education Advisory Committee advises the Vice Dean, Post MD Education on the oversight of fellowship programs, to develop and maintain policies related to clinical fellows.

Reference Materials

Meeting Time & Location

All meetings will take place from 8:00 AM to 9:30 AM at the PGME Office, 500 University Avenue, Suite 602, Boardroom. Please contact Shannon Spencer or phone 416-978-4719 for regrets or information.

Meeting Dates

Listed below are the FEAC meeting dates.

2017-18 2018-19
Tues, Oct 24, 2017 Tues, Oct 30, 2018
Tues, Jan 16, 2018 Tues, Jan 22, 2019
Tues, Apr 24, 2018 Tues, Apr 9, 2019
Tues, Jun 12, 2018 Tues, Jun 4, 2019

Membership

The following table provides a listing of all FEAC members.

Affiliation Member Name
Chair Dr. Rayfel Schneider
Vice Dean, Post MD Education Dr. Salvatore Spadafora
Associate Dean, PGME Dr. Glen Bandiera
Director, PGME
(Admissions & Evaluation)
Dr. Linda Probyn
Standing Members Dr. Cheryl Jaigobin (Medicine)
Dr. Rayfel Schneider (Paediatrics)
Dr. Helen MacRae (Surgery)
Dr. Giovanna Sirianni (Family & Community Medicine)
Rotating Members Dr. Peter Chung
(Radiation Oncology)

Dr. Arun Ravindran (Psychiatry)

Dr. Doreen Yee (Anesthesia)
Affiliated Hospitals / HUEC Dr. Karl Iglar (St. Michael’s Hospital)
Dr. Rayfel Schneider (The Hospital for Sick Children)
Dr. Adrienne Tan (University Health Network)
Clinical Fellows Dr. Zachary Liederman
Ex-Officio Dalia Al-Mouaswas (University Health Network)
PGME Office PGME Office staff as required

The IRC is the standing subcommittee of the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) which has oversight responsibility of the internal review of all residency programs.

The accreditation process is a 8 year cycle which encompasses:

  • the on-site survey,
  • regularly scheduled internal review(s),
  • update reports, and
  • any mandated reviews of the postgraduate medical education office and residency training programs.

In addition, throughout the accreditation cycle, there are:

  • new Program Applications,
  • FIRE Applications, and
  • the re-activation of inactive programs.

The Internal Review Committee (IRC) is the standing subcommittee of the University of Toronto, Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) which has oversight responsibility of the internal review of all residency programs. The IRC has the mandate to support educational excellence and accreditation compliance through organizing, reviewing and providing recommendations based on all residency program reviews, carried out under the auspices of the Postgraduate Medical Education Office. The IRC consists of program directors (current, former), teaching faculty, educators, and senior residents.

Family Medicine Internal Review Subcommittee

The Family Medicine Internal Review Subcommittee (FM-IRSC) is an ad hoc subcommittee of the IRC and the PGMEAC of the University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine.

The FM-IRSC provides qualitative and formative feedback to the Family Medicine Residency Program Committee, Family Medicine Program Directors, and the Divisional Site Directors. Recommendations from the FM-IRSC with respect to internal reviews, follow-up reports, or follow-up reviews are intended to assist programs and sites in building on strengths and identifying weaknesses, and are subject to approval by the IRC. Membership of this committee consists of teaching faculty, educators, site directors (current, former), IRC members, and senior residents.

The Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee advises the Dean and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and generates policy recommendations to the Faculty Council on all matters related to Postgraduate Medical Education, including those brought to it by its committees.

Reference Materials

PGMEAC Meeting Dates

2018 2019
Friday, May 25, 2018
(All PDs & FMSD)
Friday, January 25
June 2018 – No Meeting February – No Meeting
Friday, September 21 Friday, March 29
Friday, October 26 Friday, April 26
November – No Meeting Friday, May 31
(All PDs & FMSD)
Friday, December 14
(All PDs & FMSD)
June – No Meeting

Time & Location

All meetings are held at the PGME Office, 500 University Avenue, 6th floor, Room 602, Boardroom; except for All Program Director Meetings which will be announced closer to the meeting date. 

Meetings are held from 12:30 to 2:30 pm with lunch available at 12:15pm.

Membership Listing

Last Name First Name Affiliation Email
Abankwah Bryan Chair, PAAC bryan.abankwah@thp.ca
Atkinson Adelle Core Pediatrics adelle.atkinson@sickkids.ca
Bahrey Lisa Anesthesia lisa.bahrey@utoronto.ca
Bartlett Eric Diagnostic Radiology eric.bartlett@uhn.ca
Bell Mary CPSO Rep Mary.bell@sunnybrook.ca
Bernstein Stacey UG Clerkship stacey.bernstein@sickkids.ca
Bezjak Andrea Radiation Oncology andrea.bezjak@rmp.uhn.ca
Campisi Paolo Otolaryngology paolo.campisi@sickkids.ca
Done Susan Anatomical Pathology Susan.Done@uhn.ca
Erlick Lawrence Hosp: Chief, DFCM & Medical Director, UG and PG Education lerlick@tsh.to
Farrugia Michele Obstetrics & Gynecology mm.farrugia@utoronto.ca
Fefergrad Mark Psychiatry mark.fefergrad@sunnybrook.ca
Goguen Jeannette Core Internal Medicine goguenj@smh.ca
Houston Patricia Vice Dean, UGME md.vicedean@utoronto.ca
Iglar Karl Hosp: Director, PGME, SMH karl.iglar@utoronto.ca
James Jacqueline Hosp: VP Education, Sinai Health System jacqueline.James@sinaihealthsystem.ca
Jones Nicola Clinician Investigator Program nicola.jones@sickkids.ca
Levine Ron Director, Postgraduate Education ronald.levine@utoronto.ca
Lloyd John Ophthalmology john.lloyd@sunnybrook.ca
Murdoch Stu Family Medicine stu.murdoch@utoronto.ca
Pakes Barry Public Health Preventive Medicine barry.pakes@utoronto.ca
Schneider Rayfel Pediatric Subspecialties rayfel.schneider@sickkids.ca
Yu Eric Medicine eric.yu@uhn.ca
PARO Representatives PARO sreyes@paroteam.ca
rtrowell@paroteam.ca

Ex Officio / PGME

Member Affiliation Email
Abrahams, Caroline Director, Policy, Analysis & Systems caroline.abrahams@utoronto.ca
Bandiera, Glen (Chair) Associate Dean, PGME bandierag@smh.ca
Fechtig, Lindsey Edu Deans lindsey.fechtig@utoronto.ca
Freeland, Alison VP Education THP/AD Med Ed Regional alison.freeland@utoronto.ca
Glover Takahashi. Susan Director, Education Integration Group sglover.takahashi@utoronto.ca
Hynes, Melissa Lead, Learner Education Support melissa.kennedy@utoronto.ca
Maggi, Julie Director, Resident Wellness julie.maggi@utoronto.ca
Matlow, Anne Faculty Lead, Strategic Initiatives anne.matlow@utoronto.ca
Morris, Maureen Associate Director, Operations maureenf.morris@utoronto.ca
Muharuma, Loreta Director, Operations PGME loreta.muharuma@utoronto.ca
Murgaski, Laura Leigh Program Manager, Education & Quality Systems laura.murgaski@utoronto.ca
Probyn, Linda Director, PG Admissions & Evaluation linda.probyn@sunnybrook.ca
Spadafora, Sal Vice Dean, Post MD Education sal.spadafora@utoronto.ca
Spencer, Shannon International Relationship Manager sd.spencer@utoronto.ca

The Postgraduate Administrators Advisory Committee (PAAC) provides collaborative support, orientation, and essential knowledge pertaining to the medical education administrator role. The committee also provides advice to the Postgraduate Medical Education Advisory Committee (PGMEAC) on enhancing program support for administrators in academic departments, medical education and training sites affiliated with postgraduate medical education.

Reference Materials

On an annual basis, the Quotas Subcommittee:

  • Reviews the criteria and principles for allocation of PGY1 positions for the upcoming CaRMS
    match (July-August)
  • Considers criteria and principles for allocation of other PGY positions for advanced training, reentry,
    repatriation, transfers, subspecialty positions (including CCFP-PGY3) as well as PGY1
    positions for Visa trainees and capacity for assessment of IMGs.
  • Receives and reviews submissions from programs on the allocation of PGY positions and
    assessment capacity in accordance with MOHLTC directives and the University of Toronto’s
    mission (July/August)
  • Recommends the CaRMS quotas and transfer options for the next match for Pool A and Pool B to
    PGMEAC (September/October)
  • Reviews and makes recommendations on the allocation of other PGY positions as identified above
    to PGMEAC (Ongoing throughout the year as per CaRMS timetables)

To learn more about the Quotas Subcommittee, please review the Terms of Reference.

The Simulation Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) was established in 2016 as a source of advice to the Vice Dean Post MD Education about the coordination and optimization of simulation expertise and resources within the Faculty of Medicine university and hospital network.

The SEAC gathers and shares information about educational simulation activities, develops guidelines to streamline processes and improve access to simulation resources, promotes innovation and best practice, and creates a vision for education simulation in the Faculty of Medicine.

Reference Materials

© 2016 Post MD Education. All rights reserved.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux