Mobile Menu


The on-site survey in 2020

We are nearing the end of the internal review portion of our current accreditation cycle and are now preparing for the upcoming on-site review in November 2020. During the on-site review, all of the University of Toronto residency training programs and areas of focused competence (AFC) programs will be reviewed and held to the new accreditation standards. Programs are working on completing the new Accreditation Questionnaire (AQ) which has replaced the old PSQ (pre survey questionnaire) and corresponds to the new standards.

Completed Accreditation Questionnaires (AQs) are due from all programs to the accreditation team at PGME by October 15, 2019. To assist with this process, we have provided the following Tip Sheet:

NEW: 2020 AQ Tip Sheet for RCPSC Program Directors and Program Administrators


Save the Dates!

The on-site survey dates have been set by the Royal College (RCPSC) and Family Medicine (CFPC). All faculty, residents and residency education leaders, please hold these dates in your calendars:
Sunday, November 22 – Friday, November 27, 2020.

The dates of the mandatory pre-survey visit have also been confirmed for Tuesday, April 28th and Wednesday, April 29th, 2020. Please hold these dates in your calendars as well.

More details to follow soon.


April 2019: Accreditation questionnaires and tip sheet sent to programs
Ongoing:  Workshops and one-on-one support offered through PGME
October 15, 2019: Accreditation questionnaires and attachments due to PGME
October 2019 – February 2020:  Editing and finalizing AQ documents
March – June 2020: PGME uploads finalized documents to online Accreditation Management System (AMS)
April 28th & April 29th, 2020: Mandatory Pre-Survey Visit
Spring/Summer 2020: On-site document preparations
November 22nd to November 27th, 2020: On-Site Review

Once the Accreditation Questionnaire and attachments have been signed off and approved by the program, the department and the PGME Associate Dean, the accreditation team at PGME will upload each program’s content into the new online accreditation management system (AMS).

If you have any questions about accreditation, please contact our accreditation team at or call 416-946-8456 for assistance.

To keep informed about accreditation updates and preparations for the 2020 on-site review, please see the registration page for upcoming workshop details and our Postgrad Accreditation newsletter.

New Accreditation Standards

The Canadian Residency Accreditation Consortium (CanRAC: a partnership of the Royal College, the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the Collège des Médecins du Québec) released new accreditation standards for both Institutions and Programs.

General Standards of Accreditation for Residency Programs
Standards for Accreditation for Residency Programs in Family Medicine (“Red Book”)
General Standards of Accreditation for Institutions with Residency Programs

These new accreditation standards come into effect July 1, 2019 and are applicable to all residency training programs accredited by the Royal College and College of Family Physicians (CFPC). All University of Toronto, residency training programs will be held to the new standards at the next on-site accreditation survey, scheduled to take place in the Fall of 2020.

The Accreditation Management System (AMS)

CanRAC has built a new online Accreditation Management System (AMS) to help facilitate the process for surveyors to review documents in preparation for an on-site survey. The system will be fully in place in time for the University of Toronto on-site survey in November 2020.

In preparation for 2020 Accreditation, the PGME office will upload all required documents for each program into the new online AMS.

Transitioning to Competence By Design (CBD)

Programs will be in various stages of Competence By Design planning and implementation at the time of the 2020 on-site survey. This will add complexity to program documents if they have dual streams of trainees (i.e. junior residents in CBD, and senior residents in the traditional time based system). PGME will continue to work with programs on a case by case basis to ensure that the documentation provided for your accreditation visit reflects the status of your program.

For additional information on the continued roll out of Competence By Design at the University of Toronto, please visit the CBD website.

Institutional Review Process

A new institutional review process will be in place for the on-site accreditation survey in 2020. The PGME Office will be reviewed against, and held to, the General Standards of Accreditation for Institutions with Residency Programs. We will continue to post updated information on our website as it is made available.

Areas of Focused Competence (AFC) Programs

The Areas of Focused Competence (AFC) Diploma Programs are a new category of program accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. In addition to residency training programs, all AFC programs will be reviewed during the accreditation on-site survey in Fall 2020.

For additional information related to AFC programs, please visit the AFC website.

ITERs and Goals & Objectives

If you would like to update, revise or create new ITERs and Goals & Objectives documents for your program, please contact for assistance. We will arrange for an Orientation Meeting for your program to go over the PGME Minimum Guidelines, review your documents and answer any questions you may have. We will work closely with your program to finalize your files and have them uploaded to POWER. Please see below for a number of sample documents to assist you in this process:


© 2016 Post MD Education. All rights reserved.

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux